National Fish and Wildlife Foundation Guy Bradley Award for 2014

Request for Nominations for State Agency and Federal Agency Wildlife Enforcement Officers to Recognize Outstanding Lifetime Service


The Guy Bradley Award will be presented to one state agency and one federal agency person whose dedication and public service to protecting the nation's natural resources demonstrates outstanding leadership, excellence in implementation, knowledge, and a lifetime commitment to the field of wildlife law enforcement, and whose actions have advanced the cause of wildlife conservation.

This award is given in the spirit of Guy Bradley, the first wildlife law enforcement agent killed (1905) while performing his duties to protect the nation's wildlife. Wildlife officers, spread thinly over the entire United States, enforce the wildlife laws of this country in all weather conditions and are often alone, understaffed, and overworked. This is an opportunity to recognize those officers who put their life on the line for wildlife during their careers. Please see and search “Guy Bradley award” for past winners.


One state and one federal recipient will receive a check for $1,000 and a commemorative plaque recognized for their efforts at a national fish and wildlife conference. In the event that a recipient cannot accept a cash award, as is the case for federal employees, a donation of $1,000 will be made in the recipient's name to the wildlife project(s) of his or her choice.


Please submit all nominations from state and federal agencies on agency letterhead. In submitting the nomination, please:

  • Provide all the information necessary to contact the sponsoring agency submitting the nomination and the candidate nominated (including telephone numbers, address, and email);
  • Clearly list the candidate's accomplishments in wildlife enforcement which merit consideration for this award;
  • Submit any additional documentation you think would strengthen the nomination letter in support of the candidate.

Deadline:  Nominations must be received by 5pm PST on January 31, 2014.

Please send one hard copy of your nomination letter by mail to:

Krystyna Wolniakowski, Director Western Partnership Office
National Fish and Wildlife Foundation
C/O Guy Bradley Award
421 SW 6th Avenue, Suite 950
Portland, OR 97205
Fax: 503-417-8787

Please also send one electronic copy by email to:

Award Notification:  Recipients will be notified by February 15, 2014.

Presentation of Award:  March 2014

For more information: Please contact Krystyna Wolniakowski by email at


 Related Documents